'68 Comeback

'68 Comeback is a garage-rock band formed in Memphis, Tennessee in 1992 by American singer, songwriter, and musicologist, Jeffery Evans. For the purposes of the band, Jeffery Evans is frequently billed as either Monsieur Evans or Monsieur Jeffery Evans. The group contains a revolving cast of musicians, the only constant member being Evans himself. The initial '68 Comeback lineup consisted of Monsieur Evans on vocals, guitar, and blues harp; Jack Taylor of the Monster Truck Five and Darin Lin Wood of the Red Devils on guitar; ex-Gloryhole member, Dan Brown, on bass; and Peggy O'Neil, formerly of The Gories, on drums. With this lineup the band released a number of well-received 7 singles and then began the first leg of a 60-day, 42-city U.S. tour. The tour immediately ran into problems when drummer Peggy O'Neil was unable to perform, leaving the band without a drummer in the midst of a cross-country tour. This position was eventually filled by then-Compulsive Gambler and future Oblivians frontman Greg Cartwright. With the success of their first tour under their belt, the band re-entered the studio, completing their first EP, Paper Boy Blues, in 1993, and their first full-length, Mr. Downchild, in 1994. The band continued its rigorous release schedule, issuing a number of 7 before heading back into the studio, this time with Walter Daniels and backed by former stand-in drummer Greg Cartwright's Oblivians for what would eventually become the Walter Daniels Plays With Monsieur J...

Related Artist

Top Tracks

comments powered by Disqus

© 2015 - 2021 YouMusic by YouProject