Art of Noise

Art of Noise was an avant-garde synthpop group which formed in 1983 in London, England, United Kingdom. For most of the band's career, they consisted of Anne Dudley, J.J. Jeczalik and Gary Langan. The band was signed to ZTT Records, and the label's founders, Trevor Horn and Paul Morley were members of the band from 1983 to 1985. Langan left the band in 1987 and Dudley and Jeczalik split Art of Noise in 1990 but both retained the rights to the name. Dudley, Horn, Morley and 10cc member Lol Creme formed a group named The Image of A Group in 1997, then took the Art of Noise name from 1998 to 2000 after J.J. Jeczalik allowed the name to be used. Anne Dudley, Jonathan Jeczalik (J.J.), and Gary Langan were members of producer Trevor Horn's in-house studio band in the early '80s before they formed the Art of Noise, an experimental synthpop group whose music was an amalgam of studio gimmickry, sampling, and synthesized beats. Music journalist Paul Morley, co-founder of the ZTT record label with Horn, provided art direction and was also a member of the band. The Art of Noise took material from a variety of sources: hip-hop, rock, jazz, R&B, traditional pop, found sounds, and noise all worked their way into the group's distinctly postmodern soundscapes. Dudley was the center of the group, having arranged and produced material for Frankie Goes to Hollywood, ABC, and Paul McCartney before forming the Art of Noise. The group signed with Trevor Horn's ZTT label, releasing their first E...

Related Artist

Top Tracks

comments powered by Disqus

© 2015 - 2021 YouMusic by YouProject