Bantam Rooster

Bantam Rooster was an American garage punk band, formed in 1994 in Lansing, Michigan. Over the years, Bantam Rooster have been a Thomas Jackson Potter (guitar/vocals) project, featuring Eric Cook, Mike Alonso & Nick Lloyd (ex-The Dirtys & ex-The Buzzards) on drums. Known for their rhythm and blues and hillbilly-influenced punk rock sound, the duo fluctuated between the all-out rock of 'Dumb it Down' to the more melodic & lyrical stylings of 'Perceptive Pornstar'. Jim Diamond, the music producer and one-time member of The Dirtbombs along with Potter, has been dubbed as the '3rd Rooster', appearing occasionally live and producing. The group were first signed to Crypt Records in 1996, releasing 'Deal Me In' (1997) and 'Cross & the Switchblade' (1999) to critical acclaim. In 2000, they moved to the revered Sympathy for the Record Industry imprint for the release of 'Fuck All Y'All', and received further exposure through their similar approach to their then label-mates, The White Stripes. The group disbanded in 2003 as Potter formed the funk rock band Detroit City Council. Tom Potter started his new band, the Chrome Spiders, in 2007. Potter also did time in the Dirtbombs appearing on their seminal Ultraglide In Black and the not as necessary Dangerous Magickal Noise. He was also in Seger Liberation Army. Bantam Rooster was mentioned (and Potter an unnamed character in Elmore Leonard's novel Mr. Paradise). Discography Watch Me Burn (Flying Bomb Records) (single), 1997 Deal Me ...

Related Artist

Top Tracks

comments powered by Disqus

© 2015 - 2021 YouMusic by YouProject