INXS (pronounced In Excess) was a rock group formed in Perth, Australia. The band formed in 1977 under the name The Farris Brothers. Original members included Michael Hutchence (lead vocals), Andrew Farriss (guitar and keyboards), Tim Farriss (lead guitar), Jon Farriss (drums), Garry Beers (bass), and Kirk Pengilly (saxophone and guitar). The band changed their name to INXS just prior to the release of their self-titled d?but album in 1980. The band's second album, Underneath the Colours released in Australia in 1981, included the minor hit with Stay Young. The success of this album helped the band gain momentum and notoriety for the world-wide release of their third album, Shabooh Shoobah in 1982. The single The One Thing from this album brought them their first Top-30 hit in America. Touring in 1983 in support of fellow Aussies Men At Work helped bring them to American attention. The Swing (album #4) was released in 1984 and Original Sin became their first #1 single and an international hit. It was followed by Listen Like Thieves in 1986; an album which brought the band's singer Michael Hutchence into the spotlight as a sex symbol for the MTV generation. The single, What You Need, became a Top-Five Billboard hit and the band enjoyed ever increasing U.S. success. INXS reached their worldwide peak of popularity in 1987 with the release of their 6th album, Kick. It garnered four Top-10 US singles. Hits like; New Sensation, Never Tear Us Apart, Devil Inside, and the #1...

Related Artist

Top Tracks

comments powered by Disqus

© 2015 - 2019 YouMusic by YouProject