The Future Sound of London

The Future Sound of London (often abbreviated to FSOL) is a British experimental electronic music duo, formed in 1988 in Manchester, United Kingdom, and made up by Garry Cobain and Brian Dougans. Their music style covers most areas of electronic music, such as techno, drum and bass, house, trip-hop, ambient, dub, and often incorporates elements of jazz, classical and psychedelic rock. In addition to music composition, they are involved in 2D and 3D computer graphics, video, animation (in making almost all their own videos for their singles), radio broadcasting and creating their own electronic devices for sound making. They are mostly known for the ambient-dub single Papua New Guinea and the innovative ambient album Lifeforms. They have released works under numerous aliases like The Future Sound of London (main moniker), Amorphous Androgynous, Yage, Humanoid, Amorphous Androgynous, Mental Cube, Q, Zeebox, Heads Of Agreement, Semtex, The Far-out Son Of Lung, Part-Sub-Merged, Art Science Technology, and many more. Garry Cobain and Brian Dougans met in the mid 80s while studying electronics at university in Manchester, England. Dougans had already been making electronic music for some time, working between Glasgow and Manchester, when they first began working in various local clubs. In 1988, Dougans embarked on a project for the Stakker graphics company. The result was the club hit Stakker Humanoid, issued under Humanoid alias. In the following three years the pair produced ...

Related Artist

Top Tracks

comments powered by Disqus

© 2015 - 2021 YouMusic by YouProject